Shallow Depth of Field

Hello my little dying potted plants!

Today our shoot’s topic is about aperture, aka how blurred the back, middle, and foreground is, and adjusting that for a picture. Let’s look at some pictures I took!

18mm- f4.5- 1/30 sec- ISO 400- EXP 0

This is a picture of my child next to a can of Peace Tea and a Monster. The goal was to get the background as blurred as possible and the subjects nice and clear. I feel like I accomplished this well!

18mm- f/4.5- 1/30 sec- ISO2000- EXP 0

I was just playing around with aperture with this shot of colored pencils, and I liked how it turned out. I love how the pencils in the front are blurred, while the pencils in the middle are in focus, and the ones in the very back are blurred.

18mm- f/22-1/20 sec- ISO 6400- EXP 0

This was supposed to be completely in focus, and it was, so I met my goal.

Until next time <3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *