Henri Cartier-Bresson Notes

Hello my little cowboys!

Today I will be writing notes on Henri Cartier-Bresson’s work, and how he captured emotion. My next post will be about taking photos inspired by Cartier-Bresson.

JAPAN. Tokyo. A farewell service for the late actor Danjuro held on November 13th 1965 at the Aoyama Funeral Hall (according to Shinto rites). 1965. Copyright: Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos.

This image captures people crying, which I find interesting. I have many questions about this: Why are they crying? How do these people know each other? Who are the people in the background, especially the figure with the sharp jawline. No one in this photo looks happy, and I think Henri captured it well.

I love the way Henri was able to capture the joy in this child, even if you cannot see their face. It tells a story. Perhaps the figure in the background is the parent of the child, watching over them. Perhaps the parent is turned away and the child is making an escape. I like how much this photo makes me think.

That’s all for now, talk to you guys later <3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *